Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour Cream (unscented) – I finally get the hype

photo

 

What is it?

This product is marketed as a skin protectant balm and has many, many uses.

 

The Review:

I have to admit, I have previously owned the scented version of this product as I was given it after a catwalk show and apart from using it a couple of times as lip balm, I just didn’t get the hype. It smells funny, it’s thick and I just didn’t understand the product.

A couple of years later, a photoshoot/travelling marathon in London, Italy and then Paris left me with dry cracked sore lips, worse than I have ever experienced. I had redness all around my mouth, I couldn’t open my mouth properly for fear of re-splitting the sides and nothing was helping. After googling furiously about what to do to help, the 8 Hour Cream by Elizabeth Arden kept cropping up again and again. Having exhausted all products from Carmex and Blistex (even the medicated stuff) I rummaged through my drawers and found a tub of the unscented version that I had picked up in a Boots sale for under £10 and smothered the area in it.

After 24hrs of reapplication I was stunned. The redness was almost gone, my lips were less sore, smoother and the splits at the sides had almost completely cleared. Now, I really get this product, I cannot live without it.

I have since started using it for numerous other things such as:

Smoothing the ends of my hair

As an intense hydrating mask when my skin is really dry

For soothing sunburn

For rough dry hands

Helping heal small cuts

Holding eyebrows in place

A glossy finish on the eyes

Giving the skin a healthy glow by placing on the tops of cheekbones

The list goes on and on and on. The only downside I can think of is maybe the price, it’s fairly expensive stuff but as shown above, can be used for lots of different things. The smell isn’t great but an unscented version is now available and this product lasts a long time as so little is needed for each use.

 

Worth the Money?

This will set you back around the £15 mark for 30ml depending on where you buy it but places such as ‘Fragrance Direct’ and ‘Cheap Smells’ often carry this product as a discount. Amazon is also a good one to check out but beware of the cost of the post and packaging as this can cancel out the discount sometimes!

This product is a multitasker and now I finally see why it is so loved by so many. A true gem and totally owrth the money AND the hype. Thoroughly recommend. The unscented version is available at Feelunique.com – the link for 30ml for under £15 is below 🙂

http://www.feelunique.com/p/Elizabeth-Arden-Eight-Hour-Cream-Skin-Protectant-Fragrance-Free-30ml

 

Leave a comment