Maybelline Colossal Volume Express Smokey Eyes Mascara

What is it?

A new mascara by Maybelline based on the original Volume Express Colossal but with the addition of black matte eyeshadow to the formula to give a smokey look.

 

The Review

The brush is really big but surprisingly easy to use and control – it grabs all of the lashes including the ones right in the corners. I have to say, I don’t quite understand the addition of the eyeshadow to the formula, to me it doesn’t necessarily look more smokey but does make the lashes noticeably more matte.
I love Maybelline mascaras in general and the original Volume Express is a staple in my make up bag. I can’t really see a smokey effect personally but there is definitely something a bit different about it, to me it seems to give the lashes a really volumising feathery effect.
Worth the Money?
I love this mascara, it’s long wearing, doesn’t flake on me and gives the lashes lots of volume and some added length. I often feel like the more high street or ‘drugstore’ brands’ offering of mascaras are way better value for money and at £7.99 for a tube this one is no different.
This mascara is available from Boots, Superdrug, larger chain supermarkets with a make up section and as always, the official Maybelline website:

Leave a Reply

