Ciate Velvet Manicure – Full Scoop

What is it?

An interesting take on the standard colour manicure. This features a plain base colour and a bottle of matching coloured loose velvet that is shaken over the wet nails and left to set to create a real velvet look and feel to the nails.

 

 

How does it work?

As with any standard manicure, you would shape the nail, paint on a base coat and then use the coloured polish that comes with this kit and apply two coats.

While the second coat is still wet, shake the bottle of matching coloured loose velvet over each wet nail using the tray placed directly underneath the nails to catch the any velvet that misses the nails.

Allow the velvet to set for 15 minutes before using the small brush provided to brush the excess velvet into the tray. There is NO need to apply a top coat as this takes away the look and feel of the velvet on the nails.

 

Thoughts?

I honestly think this is a really cool idea and a much less bold than Ciate’s Caviar Manicure which I’m sure you’ve all seen!

It looks expensive and feels just like velvet.

I do however, have a few points to make.

I had this done by a professional at a photoshoot on Thursday, it is now Sunday.

First of all, although I did not do the application myself, it was still extremely messy, had I done it myself I am certain it would have been far worse! To coat the entire nail you really do have to shake a vast amount of the loose velvet all over the nails and no matter how good your aim is, your hand WILL get covered in it.

Secondly, even if you coat your hands/fingers/nails in this messy stuff, you will miss bits.

Not necessarily, on the main central part of the nail but getting all around the edges of the colour is tricky and once set the velvet does comes off.

I have found the velvet started to come off after only a couple of hours of wearing it, and I was being careful for fear this might happen. I have also found that it doesn’t come off evenly on both hands.

As is logical, the nails on my right hand are much barer than my left hand because I am right handed and so I use this hand an awful lot more than my left.

The last point I have to make is this; the velvet manicure is not very practical.

Most girls I’m sure love a bit of something different and I adore how this looks on my nails, it’s chic, it’s expensive looking and it is completely different to anything else I’ve seen but it just doesn’t stay looking this great for very long.

In reality, its like wearing carpet on your nails; stuff gets on it and that stuff stains it.

I have been no messier than usual at applying my everyday make up and yet I have patches of velvet nails that are now tainted with the shade of my foundation … Not so pretty.

 

Worth the Money?

If you have a special event then this is great! I will be buying this when it hits the UK but I will be saving it for parties/events etc as it only stays looking tip top for a couple days.

I do honestly love how it looks and feels but for every day wear, it’s messy to apply and impractical if you want it to stay looking nice.

I believe this set is not yet available in the UK but will be at some point this month. The set will be exclusive to Selfridges and I believe it’s going to be around the £15 mark.

This product is, however, available now from Sephora.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

